Axis of Imperial aka learning about Gallon land

Who does not love a good story about Queens, Princes, Princesses and many many cats?

My son has recently completed CRCT testing. What is CRCT testing I hear you ask? Great question, let me copy and paste something from the internet for you. Thank you as always Wikipedia.

The Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) are a set of tests administered at public schools in the state of Georgia that are designed to test the knowledge of first through eighth graders in reading, English/language arts, and mathematics, and third through eighth graders additionally in science and social studies.*

The thing is this, for Fifth grade, you MUST pass two of the exams administered Reading and Math (oh look I’ve gone all local and used no ‘s’ on the end there) to move into middle school.

The teachers don’t expect parents to spend a lot of time on these as it is based on work they cover during the year. However there are some, do at home pre-tests that I had to assist in administering.

It was then, looking over a Maths pre-test, I discovered the horrors of the imperial system. Seriously, for someone born and raised on the metric system, which really, just makes sense with its whole 1 to 100 or 1000 stuff and move the decimal place backwards and forwards – the imperial system is a house of horrors.

I would have preferred option e

I would have preferred option e, in fact I may have added it myself

I spent the next few weeks moaning and ranting to anyone who wanted to listen (and many who did not) about the ridiculousness of it all. Who uses this system I asked? Turns out there are three world powerhouses still married to the British Imperial System and none of them are Britain. The USA, Liberia and Myanmar, or as I prefer to call them, the Axis of Imperial. Although to be fair Britain still partially uses it – which kind of makes sense ’cause they invented it and all.  Apparently it’s used for very important things such as sizing for beer and cider glasses but schools, government and most sane other people use the metric system for the whole measuring thing.

Then I began to rethink. Was I just being old, crotchety and closed minded? Did I need to be more open and embracing of a system or cultural norm of a country I am living in? I asked my son about it, he explained it to me, and I discovered a magical place called Gallon Land.

Gallon Land can be seen in this VERY amateur video as described by me. There is a giant G, Queens and a lot of cats – complete with poor commentary and shaky screen.

I still don’t love gallons, quarts and fluid ounces, but I don’t know how many more years we will live in one of the Axis of Imperial countries so I’m just going to suck it up for now. As long as no one asks me to embrace fahrenheit I think I’ll make it.

* The Georgia Department of Education website has a note to say that due to budget restraints there is no testing of first and second graders in Spring 2013 (we’ll assume they were saving website update funds and apply that to Spring 2014 as well)

2 responses to “Axis of Imperial aka learning about Gallon land

  1. I love love love this! I myself have been known to go on many a rant regarding gallons and ounces (and fluid ounces, God forbid)! (though I’ve also gone on not rants but mockery stints about the scales found in Australian hotel bathrooms telling you your weight in stones, or is it stone?). When will we get rid of this horrid system? My kids regularly miss questions on their tests (it’s called TCAP here, don’t ask me what it stands for, I could go an a whole other rant about standardized testing) when they involve measurements and conversions between them.

    I LOVE the new term you coined there, Axis of Imperial. And the USA in such good company with Myanmar and Liberia! I’ll have to use that from now on. Thank you for this post!

    • Sine I am sorry to hear it, & confused, we are metric all the way in Aus. You must have had a bathroom scale built before the 60′s to tell you your weight in stones only. Although consider it a blessing – I’m all for a system that uses the smallest numbering possible. Why don’t you want your weight in single digits as opposed to double (kgs) or triple (lbs)? 😉 I do confess that there may be weighing devices in Aus that use both a Kilogram and Stone system – similar to the miles / km on your speedometer here

Leave a Reply

