It’s an honour

The end of 2012 was a bit of  a blur for me – I got back from Australia in mid-November and then can’t remember what I did until the last two weeks of December when I descended into a Christmas decoration frenzy.  Evidently during that hazy period I started this blog post, so today I have finished it and – voila – here it is.

Look, look at me – my blog was nominated for an award and won an honourable mention amongst the thirty six blogs on the list for the USA. Not bad for someone with only six months on the ground in a new country. I may have to admit the local fan base wasn’t perhaps as extensive as others – something about other countries I have lived in before. Lets not quibble though, I will graciously accept the honourable mention as my mother tried to teach me to take a compliment where one was offered, with as little mitigating comment as possible.

That was one gold, one silver, one bronze and two honourable mentions. Top 5.

blog-award-2012-usa-honour

There are literally millions of blogs you can find on the internet. There is even a name for it – the blogosphere. A quick check will give you various figures for how many blogs there actually are. As I tell my kids constantly you can’t believe everything you find online but one number I found was ‘over 164 million’. Reference for this is is a site that popped up in my google search called Blog and retire – obviously I trust their figures implicitly and will be back to read the fine print later.

Another number I found (same site reference) was the number of people that read blogs, over 123 million people. That feels wrong, but hoping it means that there are several people with multiple blogs and that every blog has at least one reader – generally the author.

Given there are over 2 billion internet users, that is a lot more potential bloggers, readers, fans and haters for the blogosphere.

There are blog conferences, blog superstars, blog fans, blog fan pages and even blog haters (as in blogs dedicated to dissing other bloggers).

There are blogs about cats, kids, cancer, cooking, crafting, traveling, technology, finance, fashion, gossip, grammar and even expats. If you can think of a subject there are likely to be at least 75 hundred million blogs about it (not sure if that figure correlates with the ones I have listed above from my viable internet sources but lets just say its a finger in the air figure).

Even if you think you’ve never seen a blog, except this one, you probably have, even read one one a regular basis. Of the world’s 15 most popular blogs listed on ebizmba.com as of January 2013 I would be very surprised if you had not visited at least one of the top five, Huffington Post, TMZ, BusinessInsider, EndGadget or PerezHilton.com.

Given the number of blogs about the gazillion things there are in the world to interest people, it makes sense there are about a billion types of recognition of bloggers, or maybe just a million, or even a few thousand.

No matter how many forms of recognition there are I won a prize badge and I shall display it with pride. 2012 was low on upside for me, I will take what I can get. Thank you to all my readers who stopped by the site to put in a good word for me.

I love youse all.*

* the former catch cry of an Aussie boxer that became part of our culture, we do generally understand it has spelling / grammatical difficulties but use it anyway

8 responses to “It’s an honour

  1. Congratulations – from one of those with multiple blogs himself. But remember – at least in this country – the word “youse” is a decidedly Brooklyn affectation … one which sets this native Brooklynite’s teeth on edge. 😉

  2. Thinking about it now, I suppose he was using a Brooklyn term that must have something to do with boxing. I think he pronounced it as “use”, as in “What use does that thing have?” On the other hand there are still many Australians who will refer to you all, as “yous”, pronounced “ewes”. Somehow I prefer the Brooklynese.

  3. Thinking about it now, I suppose he was using a Brooklyn term that must have something to do with boxing. I think he pronounced it as “use”, as in “What use does that thing have?” On the other hand there are still many Australians who will refer to you all, as “yous”, pronounced “ewes”. Somehow I prefer the Brooklynese.

    • Bronwyn would you believe I actually googled to check how it should be spelled the way Jeff Fenech said it? There was a tv show apparently called ‘I love youse all’ about his life story. I agree most other Australians that use the plural of you – do it more along the lines of ‘ewes’ / yous.

  4. P.S. Congratulations on the award. Well-deserved!!

  5. That’s amazing – well done you! Your South African adventures were also fascinating. Will the UK ever make it onto your list I wonder? You’d have to call it something like Albion to keep in line with your theme…

  6. Congrats from the Aussie in NJ! So love your final parting! Also glad to see we aren’t that different as we often throw that one around in our house too. Ours somehow has a longer twist “I luv youse…. I love youse all” . From watching him on TV sometime…. Probably because I’ve been away from home too long now I can’t remember whether he says it like ‘yez’ or ‘youse”. I had a PE teacher at my Catholic high school in the Shire in Sydney, and all my friends and I remember just her name and her vernacular which was of course: “Youse girls”. It always prompts a fond memory and giggle.
    Well done on the award and keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

